HIV video – recording a voiceover

I wrote a script based on the facts that I had researched, and the message that I wanted to send out (encouraging people to get tested by using figures to help people realise that HIV can be a risk to anyone). 

Here is my plan for the script:

1. Start with facts about HIV – what it is, figures, who it affects, and how it is transmitted

2. Why it is a problem to be undiagnosed – figures of undiagnosed, why late diagnosis is bad, why it is important to be diagnosed

3. Encouraging to get diagnosed – how to get tested (GUM clinic / home testing), where to get home test and why this might be preferable, and roughly how the test works

4. What happens after being tested – what support is available, charities, extra links

5. An ending message telling the viewer to get tested

I then went to the sound booth where I recorded myself reading the script. Ideally I wanted someone else to read it for me, so I could concentrate more on the sound quality than my own delivery, but i struggled to find volunteers. Fortunately it was easier than I imagined to record a clear audio. 

I read the script through once to practice, and then once more whilst recording. If I thought I didn’t say something in the right tone, or if I jumbled up my words I simply repeated the phrase. I recorded it as one long audio, which I intended on editing afterwards to cut out the duplicate phrases, pauses and mistakes.

The fact that I was reading the script myself actually helped I think, because I knew the tone I wanted for the video so understood how to say each phrase. I could also repeat whenever I was not happy with my own delivery, rather than have to stop someone else and make them re-do it. It was a quick process for this reason, so I would definitely go back and do more voiceovers in there because the quality of sound is really great and so a great way to add information to a video without needing titles.

The script was:

  • HIV is a virus most commonly caught by having unprotected sex or by sharing infected needles to inject drugs.
  • HIV stands for human immune-deficiency virus. The virus attacks the immune system, and weakens your ability to fight infections and disease.
  • AIDS is the final stage of HIV, when the body can no longer fight life threatening infections.
  • With early diagnosis and effective treatment, most people with HIV will not develop AIDS.
  • 1/4 of people living with HIV are undiagnosed.
  • This is why it is important to get tested, to know your HIV status so you can begin treatment if you need to.
  • Although there is no cure for HIV, treatments are now very effective allowing people to live normal, long and healthy lives. 
  • There are over 100,000 people living with HIV in the UK.
  • 22% are undiagnosed and are unaware of their HIV infection.
  • Nearly half of people with HIV were diagnosed late and should have already started treatment.
  • Late diagnosis is most common among heterosexuals.
  • Early diagnosis is important as the sooner HIV is detected the more likely it is that treatment will be successful.
  • If you think you might have put yourself at risk of HIV you should be tested as soon as possible.
  • There are a number of places you can get tested, these include your local GP surgery and sexual health clinics,as well as clinics run by charities such as the Terrance Higgins Trust.
  • Most HIV tests involve taking a small sample of blood and sending this to a laboratory for analysis. These tests can provide a reliable result from up to 4 weeks after possible infection.  
  • From April 2014 home tests are now available allowing people to test themselves in their own home.
  • This may be preferable in the same way that home pregnancy tests are often used rather than going to your GP.
  • You can purchase a home test from leading pharmacies such as Lloyds Pharmacy. You can also order them online from the Lloyds website or through charities such as the Terrance Higgins Trust.
  • The standard charge for a home test is £40, however you can apply for a free home test if you are a homosexual or bisexual male, or a black African. This is because these groups are the most vulnerable to HIV infection.
  • In 2012 3/4 of people suffering from HIV were in these two groups.
  • There is a huge amount of support available from both the NHS as well as charities.
  • The Terrance Higgins Trust provides support from everything from health care, relationships, advice and resources on how to stay healthy, as well as services helping you to understand your rights.
  • (Ending) ‘Know your status, take the test’ or ‘Everyone has a HIV status, know yours’.

The order of the script is flexible, I paused clearly between every phrase so that the sentences can all be moved around and restructured with visuals. 

Leave a Reply

