Competition Brief: Mozilla Popcorn research

I looked at examples of videos that have been created with Mozilla Popcorn, to give me inspiration and to see the different ways users have used the software to present information.

I watched the demos on the Mozilla page, and found a few very different types of video.
Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 15.20.51

The first video I watched surprised me, because it had not seemed to take advantage of the opportunity to use live feeds, hyperlinks or other types of visuals:
http://client.heliozilla.com/aer/demo_06.html
Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 15.30.26
It seemed to be a standard documentary with audio and visual layers. Ther was however an interactive element at the beginning, with a serious of click through buttons, with different slides of info. This is something I wasn’t aware Popcorn enables you to do, and this would be something that could be effective in my video.

I then watched a video which had a standard documentary format, however in the lower third banners that appear as layers over interviews there are hyperlinks that can be clicked on taking the viewer to different sites.
http://ryersonssh500.com/about-ssh-500-the-course/
Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 15.34.15
Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 15.36.58
This was something I intend to have in my video, providing links to the Terence Higgins Charity website, links to the form for the HIV home test, as well as various other sources of info.

The last demo I watched was unusual. It was an interactive poetry reading video allowing the viewer to click between pages, either viewing a poem or reading more about it. On one page the lines of the poem were highlighted as a voice over reads them out. There were also links along the side of the video, to relevant sites.
http://www.npr.org/2012/07/17/156611072/press-play-poetry-summer-song
Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 15.40.00
Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 15.40.18
I thought this was an interesting use of the software, as it doesn’t really look like a video at all. It would be interesting to have this style at some point in my video when presenting statistics in an interactive way.

The next stage of my research will be to play around with Popcorn myself, to see if I can create some of the above techniques.
Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 15.49.00

Leave a Reply

