Feedback

I posted the finished video, back onto the STOP THE TROLLEYBUS Facebook group, to show the members what I had produced with their help, for the enquiry:Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 22.44.36

We received an email from Bill, one of the locals who features in the film and runs the STOP THE TROLLEYBUS! blog:Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 22.05.10

It was great to hear positive feedback from someone who is so active in campaigning against the proposal.

I also shared the video with a friend, who used to work as a television producer for the BBC. He has produced a range of programmes including documentaries, so I thought his input would be very valuable.Screen Shot 2014-01-12 at 22.45.59

He picked up on aspects of the video which I already had identified; issues with the cut aways and general editing. I definitely agree this is one of the main weaknesses of the film, and definitely something to bare in mind for future projects. Because of the strict time limit conflicting with the quantity of footage I had, I cut the important phrases out of the audio and pasted them together in a different structure to reduce the duration. This meant cut aways were vital to cover up the visual breaks. In future I should ask the subject to speak in clearer more concise sentences, so this approach is not necessary.

It was really useful to receive critical feedback from someone with experience in producing a similar style of video. I will take the input on board for upcoming projects.

Leave a Reply

