Interview attempts 4 & 5 – British Stereotypes

I wanted to try another attempt at interviewing, and also at filming using better lighting, and better sound.

(In this instance I did not concern myself too much with the editing, except for the purposes of creating a viewable video).

Interview 4: Zoe

(Filming technique)

  • Background noise still too loud – need to use headphones to check audio. I set the level too high, because I couldn’t hear the background noise at the time.
  • bad framing – she looks off camera (field of vision is cropped out). I should have positioned the camera on the other side of her, so that she was looking across the screen rather than off of it.
  • I lit the scene badly again – need an edge light and a fill light to create dimension. Because of the poor lighting, half the face disappears into the background. I couldn’t find anything to use as an edge light, or fill light, so the scene is very dark and very flat. A simple solution to this would be to film in the daytime, so I could use natural light to create dimension in addition to artificial light.
  • I did not set the appropriate ISO or white balance. I could have partially made up for the bad lighting, by setting a higher ISO, and correcting the white balance.

(Interviewing technique)

  • I spoke too much – giving too much detail in my questions, and putting my own point of view across. The way I was asking the questions made it more of a debate as I was questioning her point of view too much (in the hope it would develop her answer). This meant her answers were broken up, and were out of context without what I was saying.
  • My questions were too complicated, and opinionated. I need to keep them simple, and more objective, putting less of my opinion into the interview, to get a true picture of what the person thinks. I already had an idea of what I wanted them to talk about, the interview may have been more successful and insightful, if I had let the person guide the topics, rather than me try to dictate what they should talk about.
  • The topic was more interesting than last time. I received better answers, and the interview illustrated an issue and a persons response to the issue, without too much irrelevant information.

Interview 5: Imogen

(filming technique)

  • Remembered to set the ISO and white balance, so the quality of the image was better.
  • Lighting was still poor but I managed to illuminate more of her face so was a slight improvement. Still could have done with an edge light to the left of her.
  • Tried to place mirror to reflect some of the limited light onto the left of her face to create an edge light. It didn’t really highlight the edge, but did provide a bit of a fill light to brighten the shadows a little.
  • The framing was slightly better, she was looking on screen towards me (not down the lens).
  • Needed more of a variety of shots, should have paused to reframe more of different angles.

(Interview technique)

  • Her answers made more sense, she responded mostly in full sentences.
  • Answers were too long – not concise, and took too long to illustrate the point. (Therefore were hard to edit)
  • I asked simpler, clearer questions (having had practice while interviewing Zoe), which resulted in clearer responses, which were interesting.
  • I was not as opinionated, and this meant that Imogen’s opinion seemed to come through more (and mostly I stopped myself from questioning her further).

Things to improve on for next time:

When filming…

  1. Use headphones to check audio levels
  2. Use microphone to get more directional sound and less background noise
  3. Set ISO and White Balance correctly
  4. Light the scene well using a key light, a fill light and a edge light
  5. Film during daylight so natural light is of use.
  6. Get more variety of shots: change angles, change framing, film cut aways of different things in the scene (possibly before/after the interview if can’t do so during)

When interviewing…

  1. Ask simple, clear questions
  2. Don’t try to put my opinion onto the person through the questions (unless on screen)
  3. Choose an interesting topic, and pick questions that really capture what I want to find.
  4. Don’t add to, or question the person’s answers, unless in the form a clear question, so as not to complicate the footage for editing.
Leave a Reply

